Skip to main content

Event Detail

Oswald Writers Series

Date : October 23, 2018

Time : 7:30PM

Admission : Free

Location : Etherredge Center

Jim Sanderson has published a mystery/crime series of novels involving West Texas and San Antonio: El Camino del Rio, La Mordida, Safe Delivery, and Dolph’s Team. Brash Books, a unique publisher of new and classic out-ofprint mysteries, republished the first two of those novels. In addition, he has published three short story collections (Semi-Private Rooms, Faded Love, and Trashy Behavior), one essay collection (A West Texas Soapbox), two textbooks (Some Ways of Writing and Sanderson’s Fiction Writing Manual), and over eighty short stories, essays, or scholarly articles. He has won the Frank Waters award, the Kenneth Patchen Award, and the Texas Institute of Letters’ Kay Cattarulla Award for the best short story and placed as a finalist for four other national literary competitions. Most of his fiction takes place south of a line drawn from Lubbock to Beaumont, Texas. For a living, he is a professor of English and Chair at Lamar University in Beaumont, Texas.


The Etherredge Center
University of South Carolina Aiken
471 University Parkway
Aiken, SC 29801
P: (803) 641-3305

Office Hours

Monday – Thursday : 8:30 am – 6:00 pm

Friday : 8:30 am – 5:00 pm

Saturday and Sunday : Closed

Stay Connected

Facebook Twitter Instagram